Drought Watch Advisory Declaration

Apr 25, 2023 | News

Drought watch advisory declared for 28 counties and 11 cities in Virginia

Richmond, Va. — In response to existing conditions and to increase public awareness of the potential for a significant drought, the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has issued a drought watch advisory for five of the Drought Evaluation Regions within the Commonwealth.

Affected Drought Evaluation Regions and localities include:

  • Chowan: Brunswick, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Lunenburg, Nottoway, Prince George, Southampton, Surry, and Sussex counties, and the cities of Emporia and Franklin.
  • Eastern Shore: Accomack and Northampton counties.
  • Northern Coastal Plain: Caroline, King George, King William, King and Queen, Essex, Richmond, Westmoreland, Gloucester, Mathews, Middlesex, Lancaster, and Northumberland counties.
  • Southeast Virginia: Isle of Wight County, and the cities of Suffolk, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach.
    York-James: Charles City, James City, New Kent, and York counties, and the cities of Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, and Williamsburg.


Contact Us

Contact Us

2112 W Laburnum Ave # 205

Richmond, VA 23227

(804) 643-7489

Email us: info@vamanufacturers.com


© 2024 Virginia Manufacturers Association | All Rights Reserved