Virginia Energy Summit Attendees

2024 Virginia Energy Summit hero

3rd Annual Virginia Energy Summit Agenda

Please use the hashtag #VAEnergySummit when sharing photos, video or ideas from this Summit on your favorite social media platform.

All the slides from each of the sessions can be accessed here: 2024 VA Energy Summit Slides

July 18 – Day 1

Start Time

Topic & Speaker(s)

9:00 AM

Opening Remarks

The Honorable Glenn Davis, Director, Virginia Department of Energy

9:15 AM

Nuclear Energy Costs, Fuel and Waste

Featured Speaker: The Honorable David W. Marsden, Senate of Virginia


Travis Chapman, Director, Regulatory & Licensing, BWX Technologies

Shane Lies, Sr. Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer, American Electric Power Co. (AEP)

James Holloway, Vice President of Nuclear Engineering and Fleet Support, Dominion Energy

10:15 AM

Natural Gas & Hydrogen: Consumption, Storage, Carbon Capture, Economic Growth, and Regulatory Barriers

Opening Remarks: Shannon Pierce, Vice President of Strategy & Chief Administrative Officer, Virginia Natural Gas

Moderator: Nancy Grden, President, Hampton Roads Executive Roundtable


Tony Clark, Senior Advisor, Wilkinson Barker Knauer LLP

Charlie Fox, Vice President, Bloom Energy

Marc Lerch, Vice President, Energy Division, Alfa Laval Inc.

Robert Gray IV, Climate and Water Strategist, DuPont

11:30 PM

Luncheon & Keynote Address

Headline Speaker: James Robb, President & CEO, North American Electric Reliability Corporation

Introduction by Bruce McKay, Senior Director, External Affairs, BHE Gas Transmission & Storage

1:00 PM

PJM and Generation Retirement Impacts on Regional Electric Transmission, Competition, Reliability, and Costs

Moderator: Jacob Newton, Director of Regulatory Affairs & Counsel, Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives


Asim Haque, Sr. Vice President, Governmental and Member Services, PJM Interconnection

Kirk Johnson, Senior Vice President of Member Engagement, Old Dominion Electric Cooperative (ODEC)

Katharine Bond, (former) Vice President – Public Policy, Economic Development, and Alternative Energy Strategy, Dominion Energy

Paul Cicio, President and CEO, Industrial Energy Consumers of America

Will Cleveland, Principal, Lighthouse Policy and Law, PLC

2:30 PM

Business Energy Consumers: Balancing Affordability, Sustainability, and Competitiveness

Moderator: David Holt, President, Consumer Energy Alliance


Patrick Edwards, Owner, The Stockpot Norfolk-Virginia Beach

Joseph S. Casper, Sr. Vice President for Government & Regulatory Affairs, Brick Industry Association

Christian Robinson, Senior Director, State Government Affairs & SEMA PAC, Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA)

3:50 PM

Electrical Retail Choice: Opportunities, Barriers, and Risks

Featured Speaker: Glenn Wright, President, Shell Energy


Travis Kavulla, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, NRG Energy

Jeff Merritt, Market Vice President, Cox Communications

Brad Viator, Founder and CEO, B Strategic

5:00 PM

Adjourn – Day 1

July 19 – Day 2

Start Time

Topic & Speaker(s)

7:30 AM

Breakfast Buffet

8:30 AM

Energy Regulation 101: Jurisdiction and Role of the Virginia State Corporation Commission; VA Clean Economy Act (VCEA) Update; Coastal Virginia Offshore Wind Project (CVOW) Update

Featured Speaker: The Honorable Mark Christie, Commissioner, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC)

Introduction: Matt Picardi, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Shell Energy North American

Opening Remarks: Sam Towell, Commissioner, Virginia State Corporation Commission


David Essah, Director of Public Utility Regulation, Virginia State Corporation Commission

Kimberly B. Pate, Director of Utility Accounting and Finance, Virginia State Corporation Commission

William B. Chambliss, General Counsel, Virginia State Corporation Commission

Cliona M. Robb, Esq., Partner, ThompsonMcMullan, P.C.

10:30 AM

Energy Reliability and National Security

Featured Speaker: U.S. Senator Mark Warner, Commonwealth of Virginia

Introductions & Moderator: Brett Vassey, President and CEO, Virginia Manufacturers Association


RADM Philip Collum (Ret.), CEO and Board Member, Resilient Energi, Inc.

Roger Williams, Vice President, Commercial LNG and Gas Development, Berkshire Hathaway Energy Gas Transmission and Storage

Scott Whitehurst, Director, Environmental Policy and Compliance, Virginia Port Authority

Matt Marshall, President, Aegis Hedging Solutions

12:00 PM

Luncheon & Keynote Address

Introductions by Lieutenant Governor Winsome Earle-Sears, Commonwealth of Virginia

Headline Speaker: Governor Glenn Youngkin, Commonwealth of Virginia

1:30 PM

Social Cost of Renewable Energy: Solid Waste & Recycling Infrastructure, Fish & Wildlife Impacts, Land Use Impacts

Moderator: Cliff Williamson, Executive Director, Virginia Agribusiness Council


Mike Rolband, Director, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)

David Essah, Director of Public Utility Regulation, Virginia State Corporation Commission

Shelley Barlow, Cotton Plains Farm (Suffolk, Virginia)

2:30 PM

Electrifying the Transportation Sector: CARB & LEV/ZEV Vehicle Mandate; Electrifying Railroad Locomotives – Lessons from CARB Rule States

Featured Speaker: Attorney General Jason Miyares, Commonwealth of Virginia

Introduction by Scott McGeary, Director of State Public Policy, Washington Gas


Christy Sammon, State Director, GoRail

Robert Spiegel, Vice President of Government Affairs, California Manufacturers and Technology Association (CMTA)

3:45 PM

Adjourn – Day 20



Virginia Manufacturing Cup logo

“Exciting news! The Virginia Manufacturing Cup Competition is back for its 2nd annual contest to find ‘The Coolest Thing Made in Virginia.’ Nominations open on July 29th, and we need your votes to decide the winner! Head over to to submit your nominations and cast your votes. Join us in celebrating the best of Virginia’s manufacturing at the VMA Gala on November 8, 2024.