Recognizing leadership, courage, and dedication to the manufacturing industry is central to all that the VMA stands for. Just as we acknowledge that the Commonwealth of Virginia has been a guiding standard of innovation and excellence in the manufacturing sector for over 200 years, we applaud the leadership in the manufacturing community of Virginia for being examples of the finest in safety, diversity, and governance.

WiM Woman of the Year and WiM Outstanding Leader Award

The WiM Virginia Outstanding Leader Award has been established to recognize the investment of each member’s time and contribution to supporting and advancing the mission of the WiM Virginia Chapter.

The program is open to all female WiM Virginia members and is based upon a member completing 30 leadership points in a calendar year. Leadership points correlate to activities achieved in the four pillars of excellence: Professional Development, Events & Community Engagement, Mentoring, and Youth Outreach.

VMAPAC Legislative Awards and Recognition

Transparency is essential to understanding the actions of legislators. The Virginia Legislative Competitiveness Scorecard will better inform members how frequently each legislator votes for manufacturing competitiveness.

Scoring is based on votes involving select VMA Priority and Defensive Priority bills. Legislators are given credit for voting for the VMA position, and penalized for voting against it. All legislators scoring 70% (C) or better are honored with the VMA PAC Manufacturing Competitiveness Certificate.

The recipients of the top 3 scores in the Senate and House of Delegates are honored with the VMAPAC Industrial Strength Leadership Award to recognize their exemplary commitment to Virginia’s manufacturing competitiveness.

MSI Chairman’s Safety Award

MSI’s Chairman’s Safety Award is intended to proactively address workplace fatalities and injuries. One major part of that program is the recognition of outstanding safety performance by contractors to manufacturers.

MSI’s Chairman’s Safety Awards are awarded in three categories: Gold, Silver and Bronze. Gold level recipients had 75% or more of their qualified workforce successfully complete the ISRT certificate on an annual basis. Silver level winners achieved 50% and bronze level winners achieved 25%.

MSI Fellows Award

MSI Fellow awards are presented to those individuals who have been active in workforce development for manufacturing, actively supports one or more MSI related credentials or services and has attained distinction in manufacturing related disciplines.

VMA Frank Armstrong III Service Award

The Frank Armstrong III Service Award was created in 2006 in recognition of Frank Armstrong III’s 42 years of service on the VMA Board of Directors. The award is given periodically to a VMA member that has distinguished himself/herself through leadership and volunteerism.

Candidates are recognized for their overall contribution to the VMA and the manufacturing sector in the Commonwealth. The individual’s effectiveness in leading major initiatives is an important factor in this decision. Finally, the individual’s selfless contribution of time to the organization and its major programs and services is highly considered as well.

Contact Us

Email Us

Call Us


© 2023 Virginia Manufacturers Association | All Rights Reserved